hypercello

A glimpse into my life

Preschool DIY’s

on June 8, 2012

I’m a preschool teacher (3 year olds–love them!!), and our school year just ended.  Since I have the summer off, I figured I’d work on getting stuff ready for next year.  I found this awesome website, Teach Preschool, that has given me numerous ideas of what I want to make for my classroom for next year.  I thought I’d share some of what I’ve been up to.

Kool-aid scented rice:

I followed the directions found here, and made up three scents of rice–pink lemonade, blue raspberry, and lemon-lime.  I love the way they smell, and they dried very quickly.  I’m looking forward to using these in my classroom.  I’ll be making more scents of these as the summer goes on.  I think they will be great for sensory play, and for use in many art projects.

Light Table:

I’ve been wanting a light table for my classroom, but they are so expensive to purchase pre-made.  I decided to google it, and found quite a few directions on how to make one (here’s the one from Teach Preschool).  Mine is made out of a clear scrapbook paper plastic box that I frosted the lid, painted the inside bottom with silver metallic paint, and painted the outside in black paint.  I put a strand of garden lights in it, and it works great.  I know my kiddos are going to have a blast playing with it.  I tossed some of my scented rice on it for the photo.  :-)

Art daubers:

I love doing dot art, but don’t do a lot of it since the daubers are so expensive (unless I hit up the local bingos).  I never thought about making my own, but this post showed me it could be done.  I had a really hard time getting the makeup pads to stay on, so I modified it by putting a piece of flannel fabric over it to help secure it.  I’m hoping the kids have as much fun playing with them as I did.

Magnets:

Magnets are always fun to play with.  I loved this set of magnetic sticks, and made up a set. Now I just need to figure out how to turn the back of my book area (or the back of one of my toy shelves) into a magnetic board (and the other one will be made into a felt board).

These are just some of the things I’ve been working on so far (and preschool has only been out a few weeks).  My class is going to rock so much next year!

3 responses to “Preschool DIY’s

  1. Great ideas here, thanks for sharing them! I’ve been wanting to make a magnetic board for my son as our refridgerator is the kind that isn’t magnetic. I read somewhere about using a drip pan to make one cheaply. The picture on the blog (I have since lost the link) showed a fairly large rectangular pan. At the home improvement store they only showed me pans that go under hot water heaters and are round, not really large enough. My next attempt will be to check out an automotive store to see if maybe that could be the source. If I find it I’ll let you know, if you want.

    • hypercello says:

      That would be great! I’ve seen magnetic paint out at some of the craft stores, but haven’t looked at it closely to see if that would be an option for me to use. I never thought about checking out an automotive store–great idea!

  2. Deborah says:

    You have been busy!! I love it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

