hypercello

A glimpse into my life

Family Traditions

on February 24, 2012

“I can’t wait to go to the fish fry.  I can’t wait to help Papa crush cans there.”  I heard this over and over all day today.  Dalton has been so excited for Lent to start, because he knows that’s when we go to the fish fry.  I was thinking on that today–I have been going to the same fish fry my entire life (or most of it).  It’s a time to get together with extended family, eat some good food (most years), and chat with old friends.  It’s been the same routine for as long as I can remember.  I remember as a child playing while the family chatted, or going into the bar (my, how times have changed!) to visit with Uncle Harry, who would always buy me a root beer (served in a frosted mug, of course).  In my teen years, when I was bored there, I’d walk up the street to the farmer’s market type of store (which is now Dalton and Alyanna’s pediatrician’s office) to get a drink or something different to eat.

Over the years, Dad has always cleaned the tables (some things never change), and had a “helper” close by–first me, then my nephew Tony, and now Dalton.  Watching Dalton follow his Papa around, helping clear tables, crushing cans (the highlight of his evening), pulling out the tickets for split the pot, chatting with everyone, it amazes me to realize that this is one of our family traditions.  It’s a great chance to spend quality time with family that we don’t see nearly enough.  It’s laughter, smiles, and embarrassing stories (that will never die).  It’s something that we will miss if the VFW stops doing it.  It’s amazing to think that Dalton is growing up doing the same things I did, and I look forward to Alyanna being old enough to look forward to this yearly tradition.

So, how did Alyanna spend her first fish fry?  Curled up in Aunt Beth’s arms, sound asleep.  A great way for her to be introduced to this wonderful tradition.

Aunt Beth and Alyanna

One response to “Family Traditions

  1. Judy krueger says:

    I miss you all. love aunt Judy

Leave a Reply

