hypercello

A glimpse into my life

Scratch cooking

on April 16, 2012

Recently I’ve become very upset with how much artificial foods we eat everyday.  It seems like so many foods now have high fructose corn syrup (I’ve seen applesauce with it in there–seriously?  Isn’t applesauce sweet enough??), or they have a slew of ingredients that I cannot pronounce.  It doesn’t seem right to be putting all that crap into our bodies.  I also shop with a very limited budget for food, and all the “convenience” foods really are expensive when you factor in how little they make.  So, I’ve been cooking a lot more from scratch.  I’ve learned to make tortillas (sure, they aren’t round, or really any shape yet, but boy are they good!) which Dalton absolutely loves.  I’ve been making muffins and storing them in the freezer to grab as a quick breakfast on my way out the door with a piece of fruit and a hard boiled egg (much healthier than a huge bowl of frosted cereal).  I have hummus in the fridge to snack on with veggies.  I have a (very spicy) black bean and corn salad chilling out in the fridge for lunches.  It takes a bit more work, but I think it’ll be a lot healthier for us in the long run.

So dinner tonight?  I think it looks pretty yummy, don’t you?  Homemade tortilla with rice and the black bean and corn salad.  I think I’ll enjoy some pineapple with it, too.

One response to “Scratch cooking

  1. Yum! Please share your recipe for the tortillas! They look perfect to me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

