hypercello

A glimpse into my life

Homemade laundry detergent

on April 19, 2012

I finally took the plunge and made my own laundry detergent.  I’ve wanted to try it for quite a few years now, and finally decided that now was the time.  After checking out a few recipes online, I finally settled on making one almost identical to the one on the Duggar’s website.  I’m really hoping this detergent works well, especially with our cloth diapers (it seems we run through quite a bit of detergent washing them).

Homemade Laundry Detergent
(32-64 loads, depending on amount used)

1 bar Fels-Naptha soap (I found it in with the laundry detergents)

1 cup Arm & Hammer Super Washing Soda

1/2 cup Borax

1 cup laundry detergent

  1. Grate the bar of soap.
  2. Put the grated soap into the food processor and mix until it’s finer pieces.
  3. Add all the other ingredients and mix until well combined.
  4. Store in an air-tight container.

To use:  start the washer with HOT water (to make sure all the soap melts)–you can switch to cold after the soap is melted.  Use 1 tablespoon-2 tablespoons detergent.

Breakdown of the cost of making this:

  • Fels-Naptha soap–$1.04/bar
  • Arm & Hammer Super Washing Soda–$3.29/box, and I’ll get about 6 uses per box, which makes it $.55/batch
  • Borax–$3.49/box, and I’ll get about 21 uses per box, which makes it $.17/batch
  • Detergent–$5.99/box, and I’ll get about 15 uses per box, which makes it $.40/batch

So, it costs $2.16 per batch, and $.03 per tablespoon.  Really looking forward to seeing how this works out–look for an update in a few weeks!

4 responses to “Homemade laundry detergent

  1. I’ve been using a very similar version for about three years now. I do mine in liquid form and don’t include the additional laundry detergent. Mr. Foodie gets *very* dirty at work and this stuff gets his grubbies clean. It doesn’t get our whites super white like Tide might so I still use bleach or Oxiclean with those but other than that we have no complaints. I hope it works for you!

  2. Heidi says:

    I make my own too – using washing soda, baking soda, borax and grated Dr. Bronners peppermint soap b/c it smells so good. Hope you like your results. Mine works great.

  3. hypercello says:

    So far it seems to be working great! We’ve done a few loads, and our cloth diapers came out so soft!! I just really have to watch now to see if Alyanna has a reaction to the detergent, but it’s all looking good so far.

Leave a Reply

