hypercello

A glimpse into my life

Homemade tortillas

on April 22, 2012

I’ve really been enjoying making my own tortillas the past few weeks.  I love the way they taste, and they are much cheaper than the ones you can buy in the store (even though mine still aren’t round at all, but that’s just a work in progress).  This is the recipe I use–don’t remember where I picked it up from, but I’ve adjusted it a bit from how I first made them.


Homem
ade Tortillas (12-14 nine inch ones)

2 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for dusting your work area
1/16 tsp baking powder (I know, such a small amount)
1/4 c butter, softened
3/4 tsp salt
3/4 c warm water

  1. Mix the flour, baking powder, and salt together in a large bowl.
  2. Using your hands, mix the butter in until it resembles a course cornmeal consistency.
  3. Slowly pour the water in while mixing until a soft dough is formed (I don’t always use all the water).  My dough always stays a bit sticky at this point.
  4. Set the dough on a lightly floured surface, and turn the bowl over it.  Let it rest for about 20 minutes.
  5. Divide the dough into about 12 pieces.  Roll the dough as thinly as possible, making round tortillas.
  6. Heat a skillet over medium heat.  Once it’s hot (I test by sprinkling water on it), put a tortilla on it, and cook it for 15-30 seconds on each side.  You know it’s done when bubbles form and it’s lightly browned.

These stay good in the fridge for up to a week (we haven’t tried freezing them yet–they don’t last that long around here!).  Enjoy!
What do you enjoy on your tortillas?  I’m always looking for new things to try.

5 responses to “Homemade tortillas

  1. We made some homemade tortillas, too. I made (and blogged about) tortillas without lard or butter. They came out fab! Here’s the link: http://wp.me/p1305P-B1
    Greetings from north of the Arctic Circle.

  2. hypercello says:

    Yours look yummy too! I’m going to try them next time I whip up a batch.

  3. trixfred30 says:

    beef strip, red peppers and bbq sauce – perfect!

  4. Brenda says:

    I’ll have to try this. I make mine the old fashion way with lard. I have never tried them with butter. I’ll make them to night and let you know how I like them.

Leave a Reply

